Round Rock, TexasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
  • Calendar
  • RSS Feed
  • Contact
  • Recycle on:
  • Pool Temp:

Mayor named Citizen of the Year by Chamber

Published on January 28, 2021 under RRnews

Mayor Craig Morgan was named the Round Rock Chamber’s Citizen of the Year at its virtual 2020 Business Awards program held on Jan. 26.

The Citizen of the Year award was first given in 1967 and has recognized some of the city’s most impactful community members such as Nancy Rabb, Louis Henna, Charlie Culpepper, Police Chief Allen Banks and former City Council Member George White. Over the years, 54 recipients have been named Citizen of the Year for their substantial, positive impact on Round Rock.

Morgan’s leadership, character, collaboration and community service throughout 2020 were listed as attributes that led to the honor. Morgan played an integral role in launching Round Rock Cares in March 2020 in conjunction with the Round Rock Chamber, Dell Technologies and the Greater Round Rock Community Foundation to help small businesses affected by COVID-19 by allocating financial resources as quickly and as directly as possible. The effort was able to raise nearly $420,000 from community members to help 241 small businesses in need. 

The Chamber recognized Morgan’s leadership as the City increased financial support from the CARES Act to the Round Rock Area Serving Center to help struggling families in Round Rock and continued essential services during statewide stay home orders. When the City adopted its ordinance requiring face coverings, the Chamber praised Morgan’s willingness to seek input from citizens and leaders in the business and faith communities to ensure broad adoption of the ordinance.

“His swift action combined with a consistent focus on the people of this community made him the obvious choice for the 2020 Citizen of the Year,” said Steve Stapp, President and CEO of R Bank.

Morgan was also presented the Innovation in Philanthropy award from the Greater Round Rock Community Foundation during the virtual event for his efforts in leading Round Rock Cares.

“I want to thank the Greater Round Rock Community Foundation, the City of Round Rock, the Chamber and most of all our citizens for coming together during this tough, tough time. I’m humbled and honored to accept this award,” Morgan said upon receiving the award from Nyle Maxwell, Chair of the Greater Round Rock Community Foundation.


Here’s the entire list of businesses and community members honored during the program:

  • Ambassador of the Year: Deana Cavanaugh, Lott Brothers Construction
  • Ascend – Ryan McGahey, LeadStrong Properties
  • Big Boy Hester Small Business of the Year: Hot Dog Marketing
  • Business of the Year: Anchor-Ventana Glass
  • Chairman’s Award: Ryan Therrell, The Beck Group
  • Citizen of the Year: Mayor Craig Morgan
  • Investor of the Year (Individual): Agnes Fuccello Smith, Brown Distribution
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Nyle Maxwell, Nyle Maxwell Family of Dealerships and Chair of the Greater Round Rock Community Foundation

The post Mayor named Citizen of the Year by Chamber appeared first on City of Round Rock.

Source: City of Round Rock